Oh, Dougie!

Hi Everyone

Yesterday morning, my hubby Doug, came in from bringing the trash cans in and started wobbling to the left. He had an aspirin and then we went to Kaiser and after several hours in the ER at Kaiser here in Fresno, they did an MRI and found that he had a small stroke in the cortex of his brain that has left his left side weak. He had blood pressures over 202 when he came in and they went down to 177 at the lowest, which is very dangerous. This is due to his diabetes and high blood pressure. He has been admitted and will be there for 48 hours. He will need physical therapy for a while. I stayed with him until about 730 and came home and had a restless night. After all, we have been together for 36 years and hardly slept apart from each other. I called at 3 am this morning and talked to the nurse and they told me that he was stable and wanted to know why I was awake.

I called the nurses’ station again this morning at 7 and they had him sitting at the side of the bed and moving around a little. He said that he was feeling a little stronger and better. That is a big relief for me as it is hard to see a strong vital man like him look so weak. I am going up there this morning and will be with him most of the day.

If you need to reach me, my cell phone number is 559-224-248-6524, but please call my daughter Kathy at 559-230-7602 as I will keep her updated during the day. I am too tired to talk at the moment.

We would love to have visitors and he is at Kaiser Permanente Hospital on Fresno Street, 4th Floor, Room 440. Please no plants or flowers, we both have allergies, and no baked goodies or sweets as he has diabetes. A card, hugs and prayers are all we need.

Thank you all! Love Donna

UPDATE: Doug will be going to acute physical therapy for 2-3 weeks either tomorrow or Monday. He is getting a little stronger and really wants to come home for therapy, but our house is too small and my health is not that good and I don’t think I can take care of him properly. This way we can learn new habits, eating and physical therapy before he comes home. Kathy and An will be helping out also. He can push but is not as strong as he used to be but with physical therapy that will improve. Thankfully it was a small stroke and his muscles can relearn. It’s like the neurons have been stunned and they need time to bounce back so it is reversible. It is a big wake up call for both of us. Thank you everyone for your prayers and good thoughts.

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in FAMILY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

