IDEAS FOR 2017

Welcome to our new members!

My vision is to see more swaps, mysteries, challenges, and fun and to have more participation! This is just a tentative list of ideas for the remainder of this year. Wow, it is going by way too quickly! If you would like to hostess a swap, please let me know and we can set that up together.

NON SEWN SWAPS:
*CHARMS: Size: 5 inch square
*NOODLES: Size: 2.5 inch width of fabric
*LAYER CAKES: Size: 10 inch square

SURPRISE EVENT: Stay tuned and find out!

ONE-ON-ONE: Type to be determined at time of swap.

RETREAT LOTTERY BLOCKS: During retreats, everyone will have a chance at winning the lottery. For each block that you sign up for, you will have a chance of winning all of the blocks promised. You will have 2 months from the time of the retreat to complete and send your blocks to the winner.

SECRET SISTER: This is a one-on-one swap, but you will not have the person who draws your name. Rules to be determined at time of swap and same guidelines apply as above.

ROUND ROBIN: A fun way to get a quilt top made by sending it to fellow quilters.
Half Square Triangles (one on one) Send HST and create and send back

DOUBLE SWAP: Any 9 patch block that involves a negative and positive. Choose a color and get back 2 blocks for a nice start on a top. Example: Double Four Patch, 9-patch, etc.

APPLIQUE OR EMBROIDERY SWAP:

ONE IN 12 SWAP: (Block a Month) Change partners every month (or so). Send fabric and make and receive a block back.

SECRET QUILTER SWAP: Make a block and send every month but keep it a secret and reveal at the end of the year.

MINI BLOCK CLUB: Make 6 inch blocks to trade.

THEME BLOCK: Could be state, flower, country, etc

SQUARE DANCE SWAP: This swap will take at least 12 to 16 months to finish depending on the number of players. It is called a square dance as you will be changing partners throughout the swap, but keeping your same fabric choices. I will have a list of easy blocks to choose from, everyone will choose one (1) block and keep it for the remainder of the swap. As you work down the list, you send a swatch of fabric to that month’s partner, she choose and makes a block and sends it back to her partner for that month. By the end of the swap, you should have 6 or 12 blocks, depending on the number of players, ready to be put together into a top. I am allowing 4-6 weeks for each round and that is why it will take so long. In the long run, just think of the gorgeous blocks you will get back and the chance to make them for our fellow quilters.

TWISTED MYSTERY QUILT: If you are looking for something new to try, how about this? Choose a block that you want to do and challenge the rest of the group. It can be appliqué, paper pieced, embroidery or regular piecing. To sign up, post your name, a few links of the block or technique, and email it to me at luv2cutfab@gmail.com. You choose your own fabrics as it is not a swap, but a challenge, and if you choose to pass on the block, you can do so. We can do a vote on the size later. Rules are easy. Choose a block, any style, but should be the same size for uniformity of the quilt, then send the info to me, and I will choose a pattern. You have one month to finish and then we go on to the next block. Sounds easy and fun! Sew, join in! When it’s your turn to choose a block, try to think outside the square and let us all try something new – paper piecing, appliqué, etc- rather than plain blocks. But if you wish to choose a plain block, well………..we may need them too.

I think this should keep us busy for a while.

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in Scrappy Quilters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

