LOVELY UGLY 10 INCH CHALLENGE

Question just to get some chatter going.

Just imagine for a moment that you are down to your very last 2 pieces of scraps. Nothing else in any of your bins or shelves. Okay, stop laughing already. What would you make with those two scraps? This is without using any yardage and the scraps can be no bigger than half a yard.

Just to take it a little further, what if the scraps don’t match or play well together, what then?

Say you used the two scraps and made something from it, and you still had that last little bit left, what then?

Just use your imagination as this is going to turn into a challenge for you. More details this weekend.

And, boy do I have some winners! They are not necessarily ugly, but just not as well loved as other pieces that I have. I guess that is why I have them in a drawer, hidden in the closet so they won’t breed. Dang it, they did get out recently and now they are overtaking my sewing room! YIKES!

My challenge, should you dare to accept, is that I send you a 10 inch piece, sight unseen, for you to play with. Let’s see what you can make with these “beauties” using just 2 other pieces of fabric. No restrictions on size, style, but it has to be finished. I will take sign-ups until June 20 and then mail out shortly after that. Remember, once you get them, they are YOURS! No givebacks! You will have until September 15 to finish. Once you finish, post pictures and we will vote on them for a prize.

You do not have to send it to anyone, you get to keep your creation! If you want more than one piece, just sign up below and put how many you want. Believe me, I have more than enough to go around.

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in UFO Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to LOVELY UGLY 10 INCH CHALLENGE

  1. Claudia in Mo. says:

    I received my 10” squares Monday and plan to find my other fabrics today. You sent my favorite colors so finding other fabrics to go with them should not be a problem. Looking forward to the challenge. Claudia in MO

    • cozyquilts says:

      I’m happy that you liked them! One woman’s junk is another woman’s treasure, so they say!

      *Donna Coppin* *CozyQuilts*

      On Thu, Jun 11, 2015 at 4:50 AM, Quietly Quilting Ministries wrote:

      >

  2. cozyquilts says:

    Claudia, there is more than enough to go around, believe me! I will add to the list! Thanks!

  3. Claudia in Mo. says:

    I would like to accept the challenge. Maybe even double the fun, if enough 10” squares to go around.

    Claudia in MO

    • cozyquilts says:

      Is that you, Claudia Dickson from Quilting for All? I thought that was you but have been so busy organizing this, I had not had a chance to check! How are you doing?

      Since I have so many people wanting to do this, I have to limit it to 2 pieces each person. We have close to 30 people wanting to play! Can you send me your address as I am not sure if the one I have is current? Thanks!

      *Donna Coppin* *CozyQuilts*

      On Sun, May 24, 2015 at 11:12 AM, Quietly Quilting Ministries wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

