NEW MYSTERY QUILT, SPRING

Hello Everyone!  

Just a note to let you know that on Sunday, March 1, we will be starting our new Mystery Quilt called Spring!  Now is the time to find your spring colors in 2.5 strips and 5 inch charms.  

Here is a list of the colors to look for:

Think pastels in spring colors.

Bright green, like new grass

Bright blue sky

Yellow, sunny

Lavender or light purple or a darker purple for contrast.

Cherry colors, like popcorn buds on cherry trees

Florals, medium bright colors

Pinks, medium shade

Have fun shopping your stash! 

 

Please continue to scroll down.

I’m so happy to see everyone!  I will be posting a little later on our Mystery Quilt a few hints and fabric choices.  First, I have to have some breakfast.  Stay tuned!

As promised, here are some colors that I am considering for the quilt.  

IMG_1496[1]

There are a few that are thinking of doing this in brights and  you can if you like, but in order for this to work, you need dark, medium and light fabrics.  Keep in mind that as you cut your fabric, you will need 2.5 inch strips and 5 inch charms and as you cut them, keep them in separate piles according to color.  Such as dark blue, medium blue and light blue and so on.  There are 5 units to the block and the colors need to match.   I have a palette of 7 colors to play with and each block will be a different color.  You can use your floral fabric for this also, the blocks just need to be consistent with colors.   

The top will have 4 10 inch blocks across with 5 blocks down.  Make sure to save your leftover scraps of blocks as they will be used in the second border.  You will need to choose a contrasting darker color for the first border and a lighter one for the final third border.  If you want to get a head start on cutting, you will need at least 7 different colors of light, medium and dark.  The light needs to read as white, off white or cream for contrast.  You will need to cut several 2.5 inch strips and several 5 inch charms.  I am not sure how many you will yet but will post it tomorrow morning.  

Thank you for playing along!

Good Morning!

Last night as I was taking pictures for the first steps, my camera battery went dead and I had to recharge it overnight. Now it is recharged and only half of what I took was saved. But here is what I have so far.

NOTE: I found it very useful to use a tag to keep track of my colors and cut up an index card into 4 pieces and wrote down what each unit needs as it will be the same all the time and makes it easier to keep track of what you are doing. The block is fairly simple but it is easy to mess up at the same time.

For the blocks you will need 4 colors of the same family, such as purple, blue, whatever and you will need one color that reads as light such as white, tan, or cream. For my light, I used a floral that is very light as you can see here.

I then used the index card to keep track of the colors by marking down the requirements for each color.

From Color 1: Medium floral: Four 2.5 inch squares.

From Color 2: Dark: Eight 2.5 inch squares.

From Color 3: Light: Four 2.5 inch squares.

From Color 4: Medium: Four 4.5 inch squares plus ONE 2.5 inch square.

IMG_1498 IMG_1499

Since I am going from a swap that we did earlier, I did not have a light 5 inch charm that went with these, so I used a strip instead. The charms can be used or strips. If you use charms, you will need to cut 2 charms (the same fabric) 4 medium 4.5 inch pieces plus you will need that extra 2.5 inch square. If you use a charm for the light, you can get four 2.5 inch squares.

Since there are 20 blocks to make and a strip will provide several pieces and you might want to mix and match strips and charms, it is hard to estimate what you will need and it depends on how long the strip is. Either way it is a good way to use up strips and charms.

I will return in an hour to post the next step and hang onto your index cards as it can get confusing.  

Note:  I changed my mind about colors 1 and 2 and switched them round.

As I mentioned earlier, my camera battery died and I lost half of what I had taken, so I redid the block.  I found that I wasn’t happy with my sample block and redid it in Pinks.  

IMG_1500

And here is how I cut it.  Remember for Color 4, you will need four 4.5 inch strips plus one 2.5 inch square.

IMG_1501

Putting it altogether:    NOTE:  Units one and five will always be the same.  Units two and four will always be the same.  Here is mine:

IMG_1502

You can see that there are secondary patterns with this block.  Since I do not have this one sewn together yet, this is my sample block:

IMG_1503

Since there are 20 blocks and 6 colors (not counting the white) you will need to make 4 of each color or 6, whichever you prefer.  As I said this is a good way to use up strips and charms!  

NOTE:  Just a reminder, save your bits and pieces from your strips!  These will be used in the second border!   

I am going to call it a day as I have been working on this for a couple of days and I am tired. I will post how to put it together on Thursday afternoon. Will chat later! Thank you for joining me!

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in Archives, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

