Newsletter Jan 2015

PLEASE READ
Good Morning Everyone!

Welcome to all of our new members! Do you realize that we are now at 123 members and still growing! How great is that to have sew many quilting friends in one group!

Just a note to let you know what is going on in our group as we have a lot of new members and also to just recap what is happening.

We are in the middle of a Charms and Noodles Swap (closed already) for Spring colors. The pieces that we receive from one another will be used in a mystery quilt called SPRING starting in March. Just a fun way to trade and use up some stash. There will be more details on the mystery starting in February. You can still play along if you wish and the list of colors are posted in the files under Charms and Noodles Swap.

We also have a Round Robin that is still open but will close on January 31. Please post under the post, Round Robin, if you want to do this and please put your name and address in the Members Address under the files so that we know who to send to. When you have your Center block ready, please post a picture of it under the post.

Our 2015 UFO List! We already have a winner, Barb Baumann and she has the honor of calling the number for next month. She will also receive a FQ from my stash. Whoever is the first to finish for the month, receives a FQ from me and the honor of calling the next number. It is not too late to enter your 11 UFOs for a chance. Just to files, 2015 UFO List and click edit and you are entered. You must post a picture to prove that it is completely finished.

We have a weekly challenge called the Once A Week, Keep Your Own Block. I post a pattern from Quilters Cache each week, starting with an easy block and then going to difficult. If there is an extra Sunday in the month, then we have a Bonus Block that can be very hard or easy. We then start over in the next month. The blocks can be applique, PP or regular pieced. These are just for yourself and designed to see if we can work outside our comfort zones. If you do a block we would love to see a picture of your creation. In addition, there is a Paper Pieced block to try out for those of us who are learning the technique. These will remain easy until we get the hang of it.

Again, welcome to our group and please feel free to ask questions or share. Thank you.

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in Archives, Group News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

