Scrappy Quilters Newsletter

Merry Christmas!

This year has flown by and it’s hard to believe that a new year is almost upon us, again!  I don’t know about everyone else, but I have not finished half of the projects that I planned back in January of this year or even the past few years!  Actually I did finish a couple of oldies but goodies (they are older than my grandson) and made several baby quilts but probably started 3 times as many that I already have in my stack of UFOs.  I guess that means that come this January my UFO list will be a little longer, again!  Please tell me that I am not the only quilter with this problem! 

Our group has grown from just a few to 106 members over this last year!  Thank you everyone for your input, ideas, sharing, and friendship!  I know that our group isn’t the most talkative but we are very supportive of each other and I truly appreciate that.  I have been quiet lately but this past month has been fairly busy for me.  This is also the anniversary of my mother’s passing 2 years ago and I have been thinking about her a lot.  We also have 4 birthdays just in December alone and have been trying to get everything ready for the holidays just like everyone else.  I think I am about halfway through the shopping and have to wrap several things to mail off.  Thank goodness for gift cards for some family members, makes it a little easier to shop! 

I want to thank everyone for all that you do throughout the year to make this a great group and for making our new members feel right at home, for your warmth, friendliness, good nature and most of you, just for being you!  I have enjoyed seeing your creations and sharing in the laughter and tears.  I wish for you that you will have a Merry Christmas full of love, joy, good health and most importantly a good year full of sewing! 

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in Archives, Group News, Scrappy Quilters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

