Venting

Getting together with Norma today for lunch and then a few errands.  Doug is babysitting all day.  Just starting to do some cutting for a few charity quilts for the guild.  Maybe tonight I can start sewing them together.
This last weekend has been not too good.  I had to redo (reinstall Windows 7)  on my work computer as it had a virus.  Well, I go to install my software called Ready Reference Library (word books on CD) and I email LWW to get the activation number for it.  You have to do this every time you install it and I  have the whole series of 16 CDs.  Well, they emailed me back saying that the activation link is no longer available and that they will give a 20% discount on new products.  RIDICULOUS!  I paid over $40 for each CD and that was 7-8 years ago.  I called LWW and explained  my situation and the tech support was very nice and tried to be helpful.  I was pretty well steamed and still am.  Out of 16 CDs, 8 of them are no longer being published or supported by LWW.  Stedman’s is where I bought the CDs but they went out of business and were bought out by LWW and their product range has diminished significantly.  They gave me the activation numbers for the other 8 and I was able to get those downloaded.  The other 8 are no longer being published, supported or activated as they are older products and everyone is going to websites for their words and info, so even if I want to use them they  are worthless because in order to use them they have to be activated and the activation link NO LONGER EXISTS!   ARRRRRRGGGGGHHHHHH!   Remember I bought these over 5-7 years ago when I was first starting out and have not had to do this until now and now technology has changed and not for the better in my opinion!
Lesson learned is that I should have transferred the CDs over from windows.old file and used that, but I didn’t realize that I would have such a hassle ahead of me.  But even if I had brought them over, I still may have had to reactivate  them.  I will keep trying though and see if anyone else can help, but I am sick of it and will do that another time.  Good thing I have the full line of Word Books, all 20 of them and I can still use those but I hate it when good money goes to waste.
And to top it all off, I learned a valuable lesson about tech support with Breitner.  Don’t go there if you want a straight answer, always go to another MT and they will get it to you within a few minutes.  I needed to download EditScript, our platform for work and I emailed Marc, our  tech, and asked for the link.  He gave me every other answer other than that and avoided the question completely.  I waited on Monday for 5 hours for him to get back to me and during that time he had gone offline.  I could have been working but nope.  I finally emailed Cindy in quality control and she got me the link and I was ready to go.  I had a link previously but when I tried it I was  unable to log in to get the information and asked Marc about resetting  my password, which took about 3 hours to get an answer.  Well, finally back at work and not really happy about either situation.
I feel better just venting so thanks for listening.  Otherwise, everyone is well and working.  Chat later.

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in CozyQuilts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

