MAKING THE MOST OF OUR SEWING TIME

DECISIONS, DECISIONS

Just some thoughts on our sewing time and a few questions we should ask ourselves as we go through our shelved projects and decide what to work on next. But before you jump the gun, ask yourself these questions and be honest with yourself.

How important is this project that I am working on:

1.  To me?

2.  To the person receiving it?

3.  Is it just for fun or something promised?

4.  Do I really want to do this or is it something I don’t feel comfortable doing and do not want to do, or I really want to try this but don’t know how and need help with it?

5.  Is this a waste of time and money?  Do I want to start over?

If it’s important to you then it will be a priority and when you have a priority, it will get done.  If you are like me, I tend to go back and forth on projects and their fate.  Sometimes, it is not easy making that decision or uncomfortable. There are a few that I have abandoned and given up on and I am glad that I did it as it is a very freeing sensation.  It may take some time or it be easy.

Now that you have answered the questions truthfully, what to do with them? That is a question that only you can answer but we are here to help guide you.

 

THE QUILTER’S MOTTO, BE PREPARED

We had a speaker at our guild meeting last night and she was talking about making time and being prepared to sew.  Basically, it comes down to this:

Be prepared to sew at all times. Set up in advance the night before what you plan to work on.  Make up a kit and have it ready.  Have a place just for that project set up, with the pieces that you need to work on it ready and on hand.  If it is blocks that need to be sewn, then get the fabric ready and cut in advance according to the pattern.

Your sewing table, ironing area, and cutting station need to have all the necessary tools there and not be moved around.  There should be three stations to each sewing room, a cutting table, a place to iron and your sewing area.  At each station, only have what is necessary there and don’t move stuff around. That’s how we lose time by moving our scissors, needles, rotatory cutter, etc and then looking for them.  Instead, have a little holder and have one of each station.

Set aside time each day to sew and stick to it.

How do you have your sewing station set up?  Does it work for you or are you looking on improving it or changing it?  Do you have a hard time finding your tools?  Are you an organizer? 

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in How Do I?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

