SUMMER MYSTERY

SUMMER MYSTERY Scraps, scraps and more scraps! What are we going to do with them? So many small pieces but no idea what to do with them but we don’t want to throw them out cuz they may actually be used? If you have this problem, and I know we all do, I have the solution! Grab your bins that are overflowing with those abundant squares that you have saved. You will need the following colors; various shades of red or burgundy and green in solid or small prints. You will also need cream, this can be either solid or small prints to add interest to the quilt. If you like you can use yardage, but I will be using coordinated scraps of leftovers in the same color scheme.

CORRECTION: We will also need some blue for the blocks. These are my choices. As you can see this is very scrappy. This is very easy and fast to make and there are no triangles involved at all. You will need an assortment of different sizes squares/rectangles. The next step will be posted on Thursday, June 5 in the morning. Have fun going through your bins and allow your inner child to play with colors. These are the colors that I will be using. This is a good way to use up scraps and you will need a good assortment of colors. I am not giving yardage for this as this will be from my scrap bins.

IMG_1066 IMG_1068
I will be posting pictures of my fabric choices on Sunday and the next step on Thursday, June 5. Please feel free to post pictures of your fabric choices. Chat later!
Part One
Good Thursday morning!  And welcome back.  As promised, here are the cutting requirements.  While this is an easy quilt there are several pieces involved to make one block and as I promised earlier, no triangles at all!
There are 7 fabrics needed but you can mix and match and even use the same color twice in one block if you wish.  I think it is better with a wide variety of different shades.  Of note, if you have a lot of 3.5 inch strips left over from other projects, this will make the cutting go a lot faster.
1.  For the center block, you will need to cut a darker color.  I will be using red and blue for my center.   Cut a 6.5 inch square.  You will need 20 in total.
2.  Now cut 3.5 inch squares of a dark green and repeat for a total of 20 squares.
3.  Cut 3.5 inch squares of dark red and dark blue for a total of 10 squares, each color.
4.  For color number 4, this will be the medium colors.  Cut a variety of your tans, creams, etc into 3.5 by 6.5 inches for a total of 20 rectangles.
5.  Color number 5 will be the darker creams and medium blues, greens and reds.  Cut 3.5 x 9.5 inch rectangles for a total of 20 rectangles.
6.  Cut a variety of the lighter to medium colors into 3.5 x 6.5 inch rectangles.   You will need 20 of these, also.
7.   For the final color, use a variety of light colors to make 3.5 x 9.5 rectangles for a total of 20.
I will be back Saturday morning to assemble the blocks.   Thanks for playing along!
Welcome Back!
These are the colors that I chose and then cut into strips. All strips are 3.5 inches in width, and the length was 6.5 and 9.5 inches. I then had 6.5 x 6.5 inch squares,  and 3.5 inch squares to use as part of the bottom row of the block. This block is very easy and can be used in a variety of ways.

Just remember that you will need 20 blocks, 10 dark and 10 light and it’s best to have a good selection of dark and light strips. If you have some left over they can be used in another project later on. I will be back later this morning and show how to assemble the block.  I found that when putting the block together, it was easier to do one block at a time rather than chain piecing.  I like to audition the block before sewing it together and I have limited space to do more than one or two blocks at a time.
IMG_1092
PART 3:  ASSEMBLING THE BLOCK
Note:  All strips are 3.5 inches in width, so I will be referring to just length.
First, take a 3.5 dark red or blue square and attach to a light or dark 9.5 inch strip. IMG_1083
Now, take another dark red or blue 3.5 inch square and a light or dark 6.5 inch strip and sew together.  Remember, if you have a light on top, you need a dark below and vice versa.  The same for the sides.  I only used dark 3.5 inch squares to keep it simple.
IMG_1084
Now choose a 6.5 inch square and a 6.5 x 3.5 inch strip and sew together.
IMG_1089
Note, before you add the final 9.5 inch strip, sew the 6.5 unit to the one above.  Now, add your final strip:
IMG_1085
And then finish the block and you’re done! IMG_1091
Told you it was easy!  And very addictive!  In  less than a day, you can have your blocks done and ready to be made into a top.  You will need 20 of these to make and they are 12.5 inches when finished.
Thanks for playing!

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in Archives, Summer Mystery 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

