Scrappy Quilters News

Hello!

How is everyone doing? Have we been keeping up with our challenges and mysteries? I am trying to, but the last two weeks have been a little crazy here.

I have been working on my blocks and keeping up but one turned out fairly wonky and I was too embarrassed to post it. I also looked at my colors and it reminded me of Halloween colors and am not happy with it. I will be redoing it today. That was the Ohio Star for the Alternative TP Mystery.

The other block, the Friendly Hand is a different story. Once I finish it, I will post it. I could have sworn that I had enough of the background fabric to finish it and even thought I had all the HST cut and ready to go. Well, guess what? I cannot find that last set of HST anywhere. AND I cannot find any more of that fabric in my stash ANYWHERE! I am completely out of that fabric and all I need is one 4.5 inch square. I have torn up my sewing room going through all my yardage, FQ, scraps, noodles and bits and pieces and no more of it at all! ARRRGGGGHHH! I am not going to stress over it and will make another block to take its place. That’s the main reason I haven’t posted lately, I have been sorting and searching for one little piece of fabric. At least my stash in bins are organized mostly. I still have one bin to go through (already searched) and will save that for later. I still have my closet to finish. It was a project I had planned to do this month but not this way!

Last week our car was out of commission for a few days and when we did get the car moving, I looked in the quilt shops and looked for that elusive fabric and none was to be found anywhere. Oh, well. I then had jury duty all this week and have been anxiously sitting on the edge of my chair waiting to be called in. I have been called a total of 10 times in 30+ years and have served 5 times already. I called in every day after 5 until Wednesday night and they told me to call in at 1130 on Thursday. I knew it meant one of two things, the end of jury duty for the week or being seated before the weekend for jury duty. Thankfully, I was dismissed for the year, but they will call me back in again in another year or so. I can count on it!

As for the Tropical Paradise mystery, I am stuck. I can’t seem to make up my mind on how to do the middle part of the background and need some inspiration. My apologies for not posting more on it.

I have enjoyed seeing all the creations here and at our group site on yahoo! It’s fun to see that we can keep up with challenges and all and I am having a lot of fun doing this.

By the way, Margaret Rixson had the first finish of her UFO for January and will be calling the next number for February. If you have finished your a UFO, please post and I will send you a FQ from my stash!

Will chat more later.

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in Archives, Group News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

