TROPICAL PARADISE MYSTERY QUILT, PART ONE

Hello  and welcome back!

Step one is very easy.  Get your rotary cutters sharpened and start cutting.  The colors you will need for Part One are:

Yes, I know there are a few new colors in there but as I was playing with it, I found that I need these colors to make it work.  You’ll see as we go along what I mean.  With this quilt we will be doing the background first and building on it from there.  This is my first time attempting this, but I believe it will work and be a lot of fun.

You will need a variety of different size strips for each, except for white.  I meant to take a picture of it but forgot.  You will need a 1.5 inch strip of white.  Do not worry about length of strips yet, that will come together later.

For the browns and blues, you will need 3.5 inch strips, 2 each.  You will also need 2.5 and 2 inch strips.   You will need 5 to 6 strips either and that will depend on the length.

The greens will need larger strips of 3.5 to larger chunks, but let’s concentrate on the blues and browns first.

Yes, I said chunks.   If you prefer to use up strips and large pieces of fabric that are sitting in your stash rather than cut up yardage, this is a good way to use up a lot.

IMG_0807

The next clue will be posted on Sunday afternoon.  Thanks for playing along!

PART TWO:

This quilt is going to be put together a little differently and is an experiment that I have been playing around with on paper for a while. Picture a pizza dough laying on  your table.  You have all these toppings to choose from to make your pizza complete, it’s up to you to decide what you want to add to the dough.   The trick to the quilt is to remember is that we will be doing the background first and then building upon it, using the background as a canvas and embellishing the canvas as we go along with not just fabric but other things such as thread, buttons and some applique, etc.

My quilt will be a double bed sized quilt and so I am using measurements (roughly) of 54 inches in length.  If you want to make it larger or smaller then go with the width of your size bed.  I am not too worried about the width of the strips  yet as we will be playing with it as we go along.

To set the scene for our canvas, picture in your mind an island.  For the background we will be starting with the dark blue and the light brown.  Taking a 54 inch strip (2 inches wide) of the dark blue, add another strip of dark blue but 52 inches long and add to it the light brown.  Now when you sew these two pieces together, remember to add 2 inches of the light brown at a 45 degree angle to either side of the blue strip.  That 45 degree angle is important as it will give an illusion of the water fading back and round it out it a little.  If it it is not exactly perfect, please do not stress over it.  Remember, this is a just the background.  The embellishments will add to it and cover up whatever mistakes we make.

Going back to the strips, keep building upon it, but remember to subtract 2 inches each time from each strip from the dark blue and add in the light brown at a 45 degree angle.  We will need to repeat this 3 times.  This also gives the illusion of the shore being a little smaller and the beach is appearing.  At this point, if you have light blue (my apologies for not posting earlier) add in 3 strips with the light brown and then we will be adding in the white.  For the white, you want a narrow 1.5 inch strip on top of the light blue only.  This should be the 7th strip.  Do not add on top of the light brown.  For the size of the strips, start with the large 3.5 first and work down to the smaller widths of strips.  You may or may not need  as many strips depending on your stash and the size of your quilt.

Using the light strips of brown, you want to repeat as above but with the darker brown.  Start with a 54 inch strip of 3.5 and add on top of that a darker brown cut at a 45 degree angle.  Repeat and remembering to subtract 2 inches of the light brown  3 times.  This is as far as I have gotten and am still deciding on how to do the green.   I will be posting pictures later this morning.  I will be posting more on Thursday, Jan 16.

If you have any questions, please send to either our Yahoo group online or to scrappyquilters at facebook.   Thanks for playing along.

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in Archives, Tropical Paradise. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TROPICAL PARADISE MYSTERY QUILT, PART ONE

  1. two things donna……one–i LOVE that house pictured in your banner. i mean, i LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that house……love the color, love the porch, love the swing, the windows, the happy chimney, the trees, flowers and walkway……ALL of it…..

    two–i am with you in spirit on this one. still too busy working 7 days a week to start anything new, but boy howdy do i have plans to get some old things taken care of this year. this whole mystery intrigues me though, so i am really happy to get to sit back and watch it all unfold ;o)

Leave a Reply

