Quilt in the City Retreat

Or should I say how my Maple Leaf blocks morphed.
I went to Quilt in the City sponsored by our guild this past Thursday.  I had only planned to stay for Thursday and Friday but I stayed
through Sunday afternoon!  I was having such a good time learning new tricks, tips and ideas from the other quilters and made some good friends.  This was my first actual quilt retreat and I learned a lot.
A while back, Quilting For All had a lottery for a retreat and I received 30 beautiful blocks.  I have had these for a few years but had laid them out in a way I thought was pleasing, and marked row by row.

IMG_0656

As I was laying them out on the floor, Diana (a new good friend) saw what I was doing and said, nope,  that block doesn’t go there.  Use this one.  Nope, do it this way.  I was a little startled by it, but Diana turned  out to be right.  Well, we got it laid out.   Then, we played with the placement again.  It looked great with 4 blocks left over as corner stones.  I already had the sashing chosen and was ready to get started on squaring the blocks and sewing them together.
IMG_0658
Then, Laura (another new friend) came over.   Laura has a special gift of seeing differently and a lot more creatively than the normal quilter.   She asked if she could play with my blocks and I said yes.  I was happy to get some new ideas.   So, after a few changes, this is what we decided on.  We had about half the blocks in warm tones and the other half in warm tones, and enough to make 2 different quilts.  But that meat that I need to make 9 more blocks in order for it to work in 9 warm color waves.   I am still working on those blocks.
Inline image 3     IMG_0660 IMG_0662 IMG_0663
Then, I switched to a different project, the Teapot Swap from last year, I think.  This was on Thursday evening and I was a little tired.  I came back the next morning to this:
IMG_0665

My blocks were on a design wall with some pretty coordinating fabric, thanks again to Diana.

Here are some pictures of other projects that others were working on:

IMG_0677 IMG_0678 IMG_0676 IMG_0675 IMG_0674 IMG_0672 IMG_0671 IMG_0666 IMG_0655

Thanks for dropping by!

Donna

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in CozyQuilts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

