Quilts Galore!

Hello Everyone

It’s so pretty here in the valley with all of the trees starting to blossom.  There’s a huge cherry tree just down the street from us and as I was driving home I saw it in all its glory!  Just gorgeous!  Just made my day seeing it in full bloom, and knowing that spring is around the corner.

The last few weeks have been really busy for me.  Remember, I mentioned that I had 4 quilts to finish by the end of the month?  Well, two down and 2 to go!  My monster quilt is done and delivered as of yesterday and Liberty and her hubby, Dan, love it.  Instead of quilting it, I tied it down with buttons and it came out nicely.  This is the quilt that had been in my closet for 3 years and that Liberty wanted to learn to sew a quilt. Liberty has a tendency to flit around like a butterfly from one project to another and hardly finishes anything.  I had no idea beforehand.  It took 2 years just trying to get her to come and sew on it.  It’s like trying to nail down Jell-o.  Just ain’t gonna happen.  Anyway, she left me the top and didn’t want to finish it.  Doug decided for me that it had to be done on Feb 23 (Dan‘s birthday) and that it had to be quilted.  I set him straight on that.  First of all, he had nothing to do with the quilt being made or how it was to be finished and you don’t put me on a mandatory deadline.  Between the two of us, we finished it by sewing on buttons.  My machine did most of it and where I couldn’t get in, he sewed them on by hand.  I did a quick rollover binding and that was it.  I’m just happy to see it out of my house and that they like it.  (Excuse my floor, I have been down with a cold and hadn’t cleaned yet.)

IMG_0442

 

The second quilt was made from stash from my quilting guild.  Whatever you take from stash goes back to the guild as a charity quilt.  This one turned out really cute and I didn’t want to give it up and still don’t, but it will make a nice lap quilt.  It is a panel with houses and I used buttons to tie it down with. 

IMG_0440 IMG_0439 IMG_0438

Now, for the third quilt. This is for Megan, a friend of my daughter, and I need to get it laid out and sandwiched and quilted by the end of the week.  It’s not really big, about a double bed size, I believe.  That’s the plan for today.  No pictures just yet, but after I have it laid out and ready to quilt, I will post a picture.

The fourth quilt is a top for a mystery that we started in January.  Almost done, pictures later today, hopefully.

A few days ago, I received an email from our guild stating that a member had left her stash to the guild and that she asked that it not be sold but given away.  Since it was given to the guild, the Keeper of the Stash, chose first and left the rest for everyone to go through.   She set up appointments with whoever wanted some and my appointment was yesterday.  There was a lot to choose from and I brought home some nice fabric for the great price of FREE.  The member had left 10 bags full of fabric, furniture, accessories, books, you name it!  All the furniture was gone before I got there but there was a lot of fabric left.  It was so much fun! 

Doug will be retiring at the end of next week and since I work from home, this is going to be an adjustment for both us.  Since I work in healthcare field typing confidential patient reports in the afternoon and evenings, it’s going to be a lot of fun.  Doug likes to sit and watch TV and I’m used to having the house quiet with no noise so I can concentrate.  Wish me luck and send prayers that this works out.

Well, time to go and start sewing.  Chat later.

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in CozyQuilts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quilts Galore!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Nice work, D! Looking forward to seeing you soon,
    Tra

Leave a Reply

