Retreat

Hi Everyone

 
I know I haven’t been on much lately, it has been a bit busy and crazy here lately.  I’m on a deadline to have 4 quilts finished by the end of this month.  Or at least 3 quilts and 1 top done.  
 
I have one that is committed to the VA Hospital where DH works and is due on Friday.  Almost finished with it.  I did it as a pillowcase and the binding is already done.  It’s a good size for a wheelchair and really cute.   Instead of quilting it, I am tying it down with buttons and then going around highlighted areas (houses, stars, etc).  Just a few more buttons and it will be done.  I will be sharing that at the Guild meeting tomorrow night!
 
The second one is about 3 years old and was actually made by my friend who I taught to sew.  She then decided she didn’t want to finish it and left it for me to finish.  This is a king-sized quilt and is due on Feb 23, her husband’s birthday.  We also have a wedding that same afternoon after going out to lunch with them.  Going to be a busy day!  It is sandwiched and ready for tying.  I figured with a quilt that large, it would be easier to go ahead and tie rather than quilting it.  DH tried to tell me that I should quilt it but since he has no say in this matter and it was left for me to finish, I will do it my way.  My friend doesn’t care if she gets it back or not.  Husbands!!!!  ARRRRGGGHHHH!
 
The third quilt is my Heart of Mine quilt.  All put together except for the outside borders with the applique.  I want to get the top finished so that I can share it tomorrow night for Show and Tell.  At least the top will be ready for sandwiching, etc later on.
 
The fourth quilt is almost done except for the quilting.  It’s the Jelly Roll Race quilt and I’m not sure if I want to quilt or tie it with buttons and applique on top.   Still deciding.  This will be for Valley Children’s Hospital, so no real rush on it.
 
OOOPS!  Almost forgot, I have a quilt that is for a friend that I promised by the first of March.  It is the RR top and I need to get it sandwiched and decide how to finish.  
 
Good thing I have the next 5 days off from work, took a short vacation so I can get caught up and also some quiet time before DH retires on the first of March.  Other than that, not much going on!
 
If you want to follow along on the retreat, please do.  Chat later!

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in Archives, Group News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

