SURPRISE!

WOW! 

Friday night was an odd night.  I was feeling really yucky with a head cold coming on.  It was 8 p.m. and I was getting ready to go to bed already and had taken cold medication with codeine in it so I could sleep.  Come on, I don’t go to bed until 11 or 1130 normally, so I was really out of it.  I had even called off sick for the day.  Well, I hadn’t quite changed to my night clothes yet, and my daughter, Kathy, the one who lives next door called me.  “Mom, come over.  I need to talk to about female stuff.  And dress up, we have company coming over.  See you in a few minutes.” 

Feeling the way I did, that was the last thing I wanted to do.  Sit and talk about female stuff with company.  Much less get dressed.  But being the dutiful mother and feeling guilty if I didn’t go over, I got dressed, cleaned up, grapped a bunch of kleenex and shoved them into my pocket.  I walked over, feeling yucky, opened the door.  SURPRISE!  

Wait a minute……  What?  In my codeine haze, it took me a few minutes to understand what was going on.  I looked at the couch and there was my other daughter, identical twin to Kathy, Jenny, sitting on the couch holding her baby girl Emma!   The girls had their hair dyed their hair the same color and were wearing similar clothing and I did a double take!  Art and Eva, Jenny’s inlaws, were there behind the door and it took me a second to register!  Apparently, Art and Eva who had been with Jenny in Michigan, had driven out here and dropped Jenny and Emma off.  

Doug, Kathy, Jenny, Ariel, An, Tracy and Candis had kept this a secret from me for over 2 weeks!  I had no clue that she was coming out here.  I had talked to Doug about going out and visiting them later in the year but wasn’t sure if we could handle it financially.  Ariel and Jenny had a little extra money so they decided to come out and visit and then go back by train.  Jenny and Emma had driven out with Art and Emma!   What a fantastic surprise!  I had been so lonely for my girl and wanted so badly to be there to hold my grandbaby!  What a special treat!  I feel so blessed! I was and am still really excited about them being here! After a good visit with the girls, I went on to bed. We had decided to go to up to Camino to visit my sister and Dad.

Dad didn’t know anything about it either. Candis had Dad come over on the guise that it was her turn to host a luncheon for the Gold Country people (where Mom stays) and Dad thought it would be a bunch of old fogies. Little did he realize! We had a blast while visiting with Candis and Dad, and Little Sam had a great time in the pool that Candis had set up for him.  This is Jenny sneaking up on Dad.  Boy, was he ever flabberglasted! 

Little Cousins, Emma and Annalee! Emma is 1.5 months old and Annalee is 4.5 months old. Almost just as alike as their mothers, especially in matching clothes!  By the way that is one of the first quilts I made for my sister Candis, about 10 years ago….. or longer.

Sam at Candis’ house.

   We then went and visited Mom and had some great photo opportunities.

And so ends our visit in Camino.  Will post more later.   I have more photos available if you wish to see them.

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in FAMILY. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SURPRISE!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Great surprise. Always nice to see family. Enjoy your visit. S.

  2. Tra says:

    I really enjoyed the way you told the story D. And the photos are great — you have such cute grandkids!

  3. Donna R. says:

    Wonderful surprise! Great to see all the photos of your entire family. So happy for you!

  4. Khris says:

    What an awesome surprise…..just the perfect thing to make you feel good….hugs Khris

  5. Janice Aitkens says:

    What a wonderful surprise & great photos
    Hugs Janice

Leave a Reply

