Newsy Letter

Newsy Letter

Welcome everyone and Merry Christmas!

I want to thank you for your support while getting our new sister group, Quilting A-Z off the ground!  I am amazed at your generosity in helping to organize all the activities that will be starting in January and all the wonderful ideas that you are contributing!  Thank you!

There has been a little confusion about our groups.  Both are separate groups but we share the same blog that supports our activities.  Stash_Quilters will continue to have activities, but now we can share with another group, Quilting A-Z, to allow others to join in.  With the blog, all activities are available to both groups with just a click of your mouse.

ACTIVITIES:

There is a lot to choose from this coming year!  We have 2 swaps that will be starting in January and will be hosted by Sharon V.  You can email her at SwapwithSharon@hotmail.com  to sign up for the Charm and Noodle Swap and for more information.

CHALLENGES:

We have a Christmas Project, a tree skirt, in progress.  If you need more info or want the pattern, email me privately at medtran2@hotmail.com .

There is also the LBS (Leftover Binding Strip) Challenge.  Remember, you have to use your binding only to make your project.  Info is posted at the blog and on both group sites.  Remember, we will vote on the projects in June and the winner will be on the front page.

Another challenge that starts in January is the Challenge Quilt, Two x Two.  The directions will be posted every other month.

ADULT QUILT ADD:  Remember to post all of your UFOs so that we can share our finishes together!  You can post to either the group or blog.  We are here to encourage each other!

BLOCK OF THE MONTH:  Terry is in the process of setting up a BOM for this coming year.  Not sure what the theme is yet, but it sounds like fun!  Be sure to sign up and follow along!

The following activities are still open.  If you are interested in hostessing one of these, please let me know:

LOTTERY BLOCKS:  We are looking for a hostess to help start this.  Everyone makes the same block, and we will have a drawing every other month, and the winner takes all.

SEWN SWAPS, MYSTERY QUILTS, AND BOMS: We have plenty of room for more swaps and BOMs, mysteries and other goodies.  If you have an idea, please let me know and we can get it set up!  We want to have a good selection to choose from and we are looking for hostesses!

RETREATS:  Anyone interested in being in charge of retreats?

Gentle reminder:  You are under no obligation to do every activity available, unless you really want to.  We just want to have a good selection for everyone to choose from.

Thank you for making this a great group of friends and quilters!

Chat soon!

Donna C.  medtran2@hotmail.com

Donna R.  fuzzyacres1@msn.com

Terry Q.  tqualls@charter.net

Sharon V.  SwapwithSharon@hotmail.com

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in Archives, Group News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

