HOUSEWARMING QUILT, PUTTING IT ALL TOGETHER

WOW!!  Has it been over a month since I posted on this quilt?!  Where did the time go!   I am going ahead and posting the directions today, and the pictures will be up on Sunday morning.  Why, you ask?  Because I still need to finish my Log Cabin blocks!  Sew on Sunday, this will be repeated, but with pictures of the block and the lay out of the top.  Next Sunday, the 25th, I will post the borders and finishing touches.  This should give you a chance to catch up and get everything in order! 

On to the directions!  Please feel free to download this for future reference.  I will have all the instructions available in pdf.format on Sunday. 

****************************************************************************************************************************

Thank you for following along with the Housewarming Quilt.  Now that we have all of the blocks made, it is time to put it together. 

In total there should be the following number of blocks:

Ohio Star, 1

Hourglass, 4  Because of the light background, it’s hard to tell where block ends. Just look closely.

Tulip block, 4

Log Cabin block, 8

House block, 8  I had a lot of trouble with this block, and then realized that I had a piece reversed.  Be careful on the roof part, it has to point a certain way, and you have to make reverse copies when paper piecing it.  I still need to trim the blocks. 

 

ASSEMBLY:

I must apologize in advance, I am not good at taking pictures.  I have already sewn and sized the blocks.

We need to gather all the blocks together and lay them out in rows of 5 going across and 5 up and down.  Please note that you do not need any sashing or extra borders around any of the blocks.  They will fit together nicely the way they are.  It will go in this order for the first row:

Tulip block 

Log Cabin

House

Log Cabin

Tulip block

Remember that the blue base of the tulips face in.  The Log Cabin on the top, the dark is on top and outside, but reversed on the bottom. 

 

The second row will be:

Log Cabin

House

Hourglass

House

Log Cabin

 The second picture is Row 1 and Row 2 together, but not sewn together yet.  You can see that you do not need any sashing or inner borders. 

The third row should start off with:

House

Hourglass

Ohio Star

Hourglass

House

The second picture is Row 1, 2, and 3, but not sewn together.  Now you can see how the cream from the hourglass blocks form the outer border of the Ohio Star, making it appear to be on point.   Rows 4 and 5 will be posted in a bit. 

Please note that the cream or lighter fabric will be facing in toward the Ohio Star, making the border, and should match the background of the Ohio Star block.

The fourth row will start with:

Log Cabin

House

Hourglass

House

Log Cabin

 

The fifth and final row will be:

Tulip block

Log Cabin

House

Log Cabin

Tulip block

 

Now that the blocks are laid out, sew together, making sure that the seams are all in one direction for the first row, and then alternating direction with each row after that.  The quilt should measure 45.5 inches squared including seam allowances. 

I will be posting more this weekend.  Stay tuned!

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in Archives, Housewarming BOM Mystery Quilt 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HOUSEWARMING QUILT, PUTTING IT ALL TOGETHER

  1. Janice says:

    Very nice you doing a great job & will be a beautiful quilt when done
    Hugs Janice

Leave a Reply

