To New Good Friends!

Hello

Boy, do I have a lot to report for the last few days or so!  Most of it pretty good. 


Especially last Wednesday when I met Lynne for the very first time.  Lynne is an online friend from a group called Stash_Quilters and we met at Starbucks Coffee.  She drove up from down south of Bakersfield and wanted to meet on her way up to visit family in the Sacramento area.  I’m in Fresno, so a perfect stop.  Starbuck’s is practically across the street from my house and right off the freeway, you come off the freeway and it’s practically straight ahead with an easy ramp back onto the freeway. 

We sat in Starbuck’s for quite a while and visited.  Though we had never met before, I felt as if I had known her my whole life.  We talked about everything, life, families, quilting, whatever!  We had a blast.  Well, I took some of my current projects with me to show her plus a few little gifts for just dropping by.  She had my quilt top from the RR with her, and WOW, it is gorgeous!

 

It was a true treat and a treasure to meet Lynne and we hope to continue to visit more often.

Thursday night was my quilt guild meeting and I became a member for the first time.  I am really enjoying the meetings and even did a little show and tell.  I brought in my other RR top and my binding dispenser! 

I may even be doing a workshop on using up scraps!  I have never hostessed or given a class before, except Sunday School, so this will be outside my comfort zone.  But I’m really looking forward to it! 

 

Saturday was the day of my Aunt Maxine’s Memorial Service.  I really wanted to attend and visit with my cousins, especially Monica, but I was too sick to attend.  I was unable to see due to my eyes and the blepharitis, plus I was down with the flu, too.  Doug and Kathy went for me and they had a good time. 

Sunday, I did a little sewing, and Monday, I had to work all day to make up time from days off.  I took yesterday off as I was really ill again, and am just now feeling back to  myself. 

Not much else new here.  Hope your week is going well!

 

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in CozyQuilts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To New Good Friends!

  1. Pingback: Skyz3

  2. Pingback: Wordlis3

  3. we DID have such a good time didn’t we? i LOVED meeting you, (and the little gifties too) and you are right, it was like we had known each other always. it was such a treat to see all of you projects you are working on and to get to see your other round robin up close. the pictures just do not do them justice do they? i am going back up to sacramento in september, but will not have a chance to meet up–but i know i will make it a point to stop to chat on another trip!

Leave a Reply

