Same Place, New Look

Hello and Welcome Back!

Yes, this is the right place.  I decided that it was time for a new look and change and I think I’ve finally got it close to the way I want it.  At least for now……  As you may have noticed, I have a tendency to change my mind now and then, so nothing is ever completely the same all the time. 

Same with my sewing room.  I have it set up the way I like for now, but right now I am looking for a new table for cutting.  I have an inexpensive table from Joann’s that has served me well, but it has the metal legs that criss-cross under the table and that takes up a lot of premium space that I can use for storage.  Also, it is not the sturdiest of tables as I can attest to my cats who like to use it as a bouncing off place onto the ground.  Come on, I need something with more substance, like a wood table.  That’s what I really want, is a good old kitchen table with two solid legs on either end with space between the legs where I can “hide” my bins of fabric scraps!  What I would like to do is salvage the top that I have now, use that along with the cutting mat, and cut to my heart’s content.  But it has to be able to move easily as I tend to change things around as the seasons change.  Did I mention that I change my mind now and then?

Don’t get me wrong, I love it the way it is set up now, where I can go on either side of the table, in the middle of the room.  But when it gets cold here, I like to have it closer to the wall, flush with the wall.  My room is just big enough where I can have my furniture in different positions and still work. 

And talking about space, am I the only quilter out there who doesn’t have space for all her fabric?  Come on, tell the truth!  In my sewing room, which used to be the girls’ room, I have the largest closet in the house.  Which isn’t saying very much.  You can walk in about 2 feet and have a little space in the back and off to the side of the closet.  It’s a lot bigger than my closet which is the width of a regular house door and about as deep.  A while back, DH put in some shelving for me in the closet for storing my yardage.  Needless to say, it has reached the point of tipping over onto the shelves underneath and making a wonderland of finding the right fabric.  Of course, I love to revel in fabric and fondle it, but this is getting a little too messy, even for me! 

I am trying to decide on drawers that I can pull out in between the shelves or just using nice baskets.  I like the idea of clear plastic containers so I can see it a glance, but on the other hand, I like the baskets as they are a little less expensive in the long run.  Or if I want to use smaller sized bins, or if I should go ahead and create my own system such as a divider for the fabric.  Only thing is that the shelves allow for 2 piles of fabric deep per shelf, and I have 4 shelves.  It makes it hard to see what is behind each stack and then I have to move the front stack to get to the back of the shelf.  That’s the main reason I like the pull out drawers.  But then how to fold them so that they look nice and stay that way.  I have some math that I need to figure out first.

Decisions, decisions.  Maybe change my mind along the way………… again!

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in CozyQuilts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

