Heart of Mine Valentine Mystery Part 5

Hello Everyone
 
Here is the link for the third block:  http://www.projectlinus.org/patterns/pdf/hhblock.pdf.  You will need to make 4 of these at the 6.5 inch size, the middle column, plus a border. 
  
The fourth block is at:  http://www.quilt.com/BlockOfTheMonth/1998/Heart.html.  You will need 4  of these also with a border.  This will give us a total of 16 blocks.
  
 Stay tuned in, I will have my instructions up this evening, if you want to follow along.  Later this week, probably on Wednesday, I will have the layout ready and instructions for the borders and sashings.  Please feel free to post pictures to my blog so we can share with each other! 
Thank you for playing along!
 
Hello Again

I just realized after posting the last 2 blocks for the mystery that they are actually the same block.  DUH!!   Anyway, you can go ahead and use either pattern, but personally I like the first link better as the instructions are a little easier to follow.   Instead of duplicating the block, and I’m having trouble finding easy patterns that go together so quickly without having to do paper piecing or applique, we will use a simple alternate block.   We will make four 9-patch at the size of 9 inches, your choice of colors that will coordinate with the other blocks.   This will help offset the hearts and make them POP! 

Sew, here is the Happy Hearts Block with my instructions:

The unfinished block at 9.5 inches.  Remember the same border measurements for the other 2 blocks:

These are the fabrics I chose for this block: 

Fabric Requirements: 

White:  You will need (4)  2.5 inch squares, and (1) 4 inch square.   I know that the pattern says 3 7/8 inch squared, but I prefer to 4 inch and then trim down afterwards.  Hard for me to see the 7/8 inch measurement on the ruler!  

Red or Pink #1:  You will need (2) 3.5 inch squares

Red or Pink #2:  You will need (2) 3.5 inch squares.

Step #1: 

Time to make more of the flying geese! 

Step #2:  This is a little trickier.  Nah, not really!  Take #2 red and the white, place right sides together, and draw 2 lines diagonally.   Sew on both of the lines and then after sewing, cut down the middle, like so:

Sorry that the line is so light, but you get the idea.  If you want more detailed instructions, please refer to the link listed above.   I like to simplify my instructions. 

Then: 

Press open, and trim.

Sew together as above.

Step #3:   Sew the top and bottom together.

And here is the block without the border.

Now add the borders, you will need coordinating colors, 2 strips of 8.5 and 2 strips of 10.5.

And here is the finished block! 

Block #4:  

You will need to make four 9 inch 9 patches. 

This will give us a total of 16 blocks.  Tune in on Wednesday afternoon and we will do the borders.  Just a hint, since this quilt is designed to use up scraps, make sure you save your small pieces,  but no smaller than 2 inches squared.  Just a little suspense……..

Thanks for playing along!

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in Archives, Heart of Mine Valentine Mystery Quilt 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

