Heart of Mine Valentine Mystery Part 4

Hello Everyone

So sorry it has taken so long to post the second block, things just didn’t go the way they were planned but that’s now behind us.  Here is the second block.  I believe I sent a link to a pattern called Heart Quilt Pieced Pattern earlier.  I made the block and found it to be very easy, but here are my instructions.  Unbelievable how fast it is to do and a lot of fun.  If you looked at the pattern on the website, it looked as though they were doing just one color and then the WOW.  Well, just for fun, I went ahead and did the top part of the heart in a contrasting color and the bottom part in a matching fabric.  You can do it either way.  You will need 4 blocks.

Here is the unfinished block: 

These are the fabrics that I chose, but you can do it either one color or 2 different colors.  Be creative.   With the exception of a few pieces of yardage  (I have limited Valentine fabric) I used mostly just scraps.

Here are the measurements that you will need:   This is if you are using 2 different reds or prints.  Otherwise, skip the second fabric and use.

Fabric 1 Red or Print:  You will need 2.5 x 4.5 rectangles. (2)

Fabric 2 Red or Print:  You will need 6.5 x 8.5 inches rectangle.  (1)

White or background fabric:  You will need 2.5 squares.  (4)  And 4.5 inch squares (2)

Border:  You will need coordinating strips of 1.5 inches in lenght cut at 8.5 inches and 9.5 inches.  (Two each).  Not in picture.

Step 1: 

With the four 2.5 inch WOW pieces, and the 2 Red #1 pieces, make 2 flying geese units:

Now sew them together to make the top part of the heart: 

Take the large Fabric Red #2

 and iron the centers of the WOW into triangles.  I use the iron as a guide rather than marking the fabric.  Then place them as shown above and sew:

Then trim off the excess.  Sew the top to the bottom and you have your heart!

If you’re doing the border as you go along, then add to all sides, 8.5 x 1.2 inch for the bottom and 9.5 x 1.5 inch for the sides and you’re done.

Very simple and pretty!  Have fun!  Watch for the next block on Sunday, February 6. 

Thank you for following along!

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in Archives, Heart of Mine Valentine Mystery Quilt 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

