Quick Update

Hi Everyone
 
I’ve been kinda quiet lately but so very busy!  I switched Sat for Sunday with another girl from work and had a rare Sat off! What a treat that was!  The five of us drove up to Placerville and visited with my parents and sisters and had a great time!  The downside was I worked on Sunday and had today off.  It was worth it, though, but boy are my days mixed up!  My mother (Alzheimer’s) is doing okay.  I actually got a little peck on the cheek from her!  My sisters and I had a good catch up on family and all,and of course, trying to get a word in edgewise with Kathy was a lot of fun!  My dad is okay and keeping busy by taking care of Mom at the home.  In fact, they even made up a special badge for him—Head Honcho at Gold Country.  After all, I believe he’s there more than the staff at times. 
 
Doug (DH) informed on Sunday night that he is off for this whole week!  Oh, boy! Not sure if I will survive having him home and underfoot for so long.  Not used to having him here all the time!  Love him dearly but, it’s a lot of togetherness that I’m not used to!  lol!  Well, this morning we started off by going to Chase (our bank) and confronted them about the service charges on our savings account that we were not aware of.  We got that all straightened out but they are very underhanded in their dealings with the public. Not very happy but I understand that all banks now charge fees, so what can you do?
 
We then went out to Tuesday Morning, an odd little store,and I found some great buys for quilting there, of all places!  I bought 2 packages of peel off quilting templates that you stick to the fabric and then sew around them, and they can be used again.  They had quite a variety to choose from, I got some spring ones and then regular patterns—hearts, etc.  They also had June Taylor square up rulers, I bought the 4 inch one for $1.79.  The templates were $2.79.  While I was looking through them, DH found two quilt books for $5.00 each, Garden Medley Quilts and Best Quilts of 2006.  Not bad!  Maybe about $10 altogether!  We then went and had lunch and came home.  Kathy asked DH to come with her while she did some shopping and off they went for a couple of hours, the three of them, DH, Kathy and Sam. 
 
Kathy got called in to work so we babysat Sam for a while.  Actually I did and we had a blast.  Sam is at the tantrum age and he was starting one when he got here, but I grabbed him up and took him into my bedroom and turned on an old music box.  He settled right down as he loves the music box and likes to wind it up.  We then played on the bed with some special toys that I keep here just for him and we built a fort on the bed with the pillows and had a lot of fun together!  DH sat and watched the news and was amazed at how well-behaved Sam was, especially after being a little turkey while shopping!  LOL!! Grandma’s special touch, I guess!
 
I had planned to do some sewing today but just didn’t feel like it, so I basically didn’t do much.  Still a little tired from the long trip and then working all day yesterday!  Maybe tomorrow morning before work I’ll do some sewing.  I have a lot of ideas just not in the mood, I guess. Maybe if I go through my scraps I might get motivated!  
 
I can’t believe that in less than 6 months it will be our 30th wedding anniversary!  I’m hoping to have a nice party with friends and family at a nice rented room.  Can’t believe it’s been that long already!
 
Well, better go for now!  Chat later!

About cozyquilts

Hello and welcome to my website. My name is Donna. My hubby is retired and I am still working from home. I have twin daughters and am blessed with 4 grandchildren. We are owned by 4 cats that love to supervise and are very nosy. I have been quilting since 1996. In addition to making quilts for my family and friends, I also make charity quilts for Marjoree Mason Center and Valley Children's Hospital. Marjoree Mason Center is a local organization here that helps and supports battered and abused women and children get out of abusive relationships. Every Christmas I make several baby quilts for the women, along with a small stuffed animal. Valley Children's Hospital is a new venture for me that just started this year. Every month or so I drop off a couple of quilts along with a small toy, for the children. I use a lot of bright, fun fabrics to help cheer them up. I do special order quilts but please be advised in advance as I work full-time in addition to quilting, I only do a few during the year. Also, it may take up to 6 months to a year to completely finish a quilt as my sewing time is limited. I only do applique or patchwork and will incorporate machine embroidery into my patterns, when requested. Thank you for visiting and I hope to see you and friends again soon.
This entry was posted in FAMILY and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

